Program terms and definitions, with audio.

Select Letter

View All


Apostles The Apostles were the first twelve leaders called by Jesus.
authority Having authority is being in charge of something and having the power to make decisions.


Beatitudes The Beatitudes are teachings of Jesus that show the way to true happiness and tell how to live in God's kingdom.
bishops Bishops are ordained to work with the pope in teaching and guiding the Church. They are the successors of the Apostles.
Blessed Sacrament

The Blessed Sacrament is the Holy Eucharist. This term especially refers to the blessed Bread that is kept in the tabernacle.

Body of Christ The Body of Christ is a name for the Church, of which Christ is the head. All of the baptized are members of the Body of Christ.


chrism Chrism is the blessed oil used in the Sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Orders.
Christians Christians are followers of Jesus Christ. The word Christian comes from Christ.
Church The Church is the community of the People of God gathered in the name of Jesus Christ.
communion of saints The communion of saints is made up of everyone who has been redeemed by Jesus—people on earth, people who have died and are in purgatory, and the saints in heaven.
covenant A covenant is a sacred promise or agreement between God and humans.
covenant A covenant is a sacred promise or agreement between God and humans.
create To create means to make something completely new. Only God can create something where nothing existed before.
Creeds Creeds are statements of the basic beliefs about God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit, and about other teachings of the Church.


Gospels The Gospels are the four books in the New Testament that tell the stories of Jesus' life, death, and Resurrection. They are most important books for the Church because they focus on Jesus.


hell Hell is being separated forever from God because of a choice to turn away from him completely.


justice Justice is the virtue of giving God and others what is their due.


last judgment The last judgment is at the end of time. Jesus will come again to judge the living and the dead and to bring the kingdom of God to its fullness.
law of love Jesus' law of love sums up the Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes in one statement.


messiah Messiah is a Hebrew word that means anointed. Christians believe that Jesus is the Messiah—the one who has been anointed, or chosen.


Paschal mystery The Paschal mystery is the mystery of Jesus' suffering, death, Resurrection, and Ascension.
Paschal mystery The Paschal mystery is the mystery of Jesus' suffering, death, Resurrection, and Ascension.
peace Peace is the true unity among people that makes them want to respect one another and keep order. It is the good effect of working for justice.
Pentecost Pentecost celebrates the coming of the Holy Spirit fifty days after Easter.
petition A prayer of petition is a request for something that you want or need.
Precepts of the Church The precepts of the Church are some of the basic laws that Catholics should follow.
purgatory Purgatory is a state of final cleansing before entrance into heaven.


responsibility A responsibility is a duty or a job that you are trusted to do. God gives humans the responsibility of caring for his creation.


Sacraments of Healing The Sacraments of Healing are Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick. In these sacraments God's forgiveness and healing are given to those suffering physical and spiritual sickness.
Sacraments of Initiation The Sacraments of Initiation are Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist. They celebrate membership in the Catholic Church.
Sacraments of Service The Sacraments of Service are Holy Orders and Matrimony. They celebrate people's commitment to serve God and the community.
sacrifice To sacrifice is to give up something for a greater good.


virtues Virtues are good qualities, or habits of goodness. The theological virtues of faith, hope, and love are gifts from God.
Visitation The Visitation is the name of the visit of Mary to Elizabeth.
vows Vows are sacred promises that are made to or before God. In marriage a man and a woman make their promises to love each other and to be faithful before God.


worship To worship is to adore and honor God.